'Game Of Thrones' Recap: 'The North Remembers'

NelsonG

[i]by Joel Hanek[/i]

A brief preamble: While I can’t claim that I was there from the beginning and have devoured all of George R. R. Martin’s fantastic series in literary form, I have been claiming my right to the throne ever since marathoning the first season of “[url="http://moviesblog.mtv.com/tag/game-of-thrones"]Game of Thrones[/url]” over a weekend. In other words: I’m not an expert, I’m just a fan who now annoys all of his friends by constantly asking them if they’ve watched the show yet and gets frustrated when Auto-Correct messes up all of my texts in Dothraki.

By some miracle divined by the Internet Gods the shocking reveal of Ned Stark’s beheading at the end of season one remained unspoiled for me – so I approached season two not with the question of how would the death of the Stark patriarch effect the characters in the realm but rather how would it effect the show as a whole? To the Westeros virgin, Eddard seemed to be the glue of the show, and without him I was curious to see whether “Game of Thrones” would thrive or languish. Thrive it does.

Warning: [b]spoilers[/b] are coming.

Let me just start by saying that if ending the opening episode of the first season with a soft-core incest sex scene is too subtle for your palette, “Game of Thrones” has got you covered in season two by seeing your sibling ribaldry, matching it with paternal incest, and then upping the ante with baby murder. But I’m getting ahead of myself.