TOMMY LEE - little drummer boy

KiwiCoromandel

Tommy Lee has been sitting on the hotel wall for all of 10 minutes when the female fan approaches. So far, so expected. He's the wild Motley Crue drummer and tabloid miscreant we like to associate with wild women. But something doesn't quite fit the mould today.

The fan is eight months' pregnant. She explains she loves Lee and his bandmate Lukas Rossi from the TV show she and her husband watch, the same show that has brought Lee and Rossi to Auckland for a brief promo tour before their band Supernova plays the Vector Arena next Saturday.

There's no denying Rockstar: Supernova has introduced Lee to an audience who don't necessarily beam at the prospect of cranking Dr Feelgood. Does he get the same thrill playing with Supernova?

"It's a different animal," he says. "With Motley Crue there were a lot of firsts. This doesn't really have that. But it's something new. I've been playing the same Motley Crue songs for about 24 years. I have to tell you after two years of being on the road last year [on a reunion tour] I don't want to hear one of those songs for a while."

We're now sitting pool-side, Lee like an overgrown rocker in his mismatched Chucks, baseball cap and eyeliner. But that cheeky, childlike energy he emits on screen is not there. He speaks quietly, wringing his hands, refusing to make eye contact until the next question. He is polite and sweet but a little nervous, almost reticent.

We talk bungy jumps, his thrill of choice these days. "I wonder if I'd actually do it," he says, after mentioning the world's tallest in the South Island. And while we're on the topic of insecurities, he sometimes thinks he's "too skinny".

"Sometimes I wish I was a little bigger and fuller. I have actually tried weight-gain training. I put on 10 pounds but I was so uncomfortable, I was so full and the extra weight felt like cement. I was like, 'This isn't who I am, it's not natural.' So I stopped at that."