Jump to content

New Lee Coombs & 30hz Releases on Lot 49 OUT NOW!

daniella downs

Recommended Posts


Lee Coombs - Control w/ Remixes by The Rogue Element, 10 Rapid, and The Dolphins

1. Lee Coombs - Control

2.Lee Coombs - Control (The Dolphins Remix)

3.Lee Coombs - Control (The Rogue Element Remix)

4.Lee Coombs - Control (10 Rapid Remix)

Meat Katie’s Lot49 has had an incredible 2008 so far but with a few months of the year to go, the label looks like it has no

intention of letting up in its constant stream of quality with “Control” by Lee Coombs.

Coombs needs little introduction. As one of the people instrumental in fusing breakbeat and house, he has become a name

synonymous with acid-fuelled dancefloor tracks that have won support from everyone from The Plump DJs through to Pete

Tong and Lee Burridge. In “Control” we see Coombs use his considerable engineering talent and dancefloor nous to create

an out and out killer peak time track. 4:4 Kicks provide the stomp around a saw tooth bassline of epic proportions while vocal

snippets and some superb LFO synth tweakery provide all manner of hooks. Lot49 continue their superb record in remix choices

with The Rogue Element, The Dolphins and 10 Rapid stepping up to tackle “Control”.

The Rogue Element, an artist known for a bit of tweakery himself, delivers an outstanding clipped, chopped and edited mix

which manages to keep a tight groove while delivering some serious angular synth action.

Fresh from a release for Dubfire’s Sci+Tec Audio, Italian techno-trio The Dolphins show exactly why they’re getting so much

attention right now with a banger which manages to be subtle, warm and groovy as well as massive.

Finally, Dom Gentry aka 10 Rapid delivers his take on “Control”. A sure fire “one to watch”, 10 Rapid’s mix is a stuttering

electro assault with some bass drops that will unsettle more than few stomachs.

IDJ review::::

Well in last months issue Lot 49 boss admitted he was a lot more techno these days, and the latest

spinner on his label from Lee Coombs, certainly has all the right elements as far as I’m concerned.A wicked 4/4 groove,

accompanied by a fat bassline and clever stabs and rides works nicely and a number of remixes also hit the spot.The Dolphin

supply more of a chunky minimal techno version, stripping the elements right back but keeping things just as fat, while The

Rogue Element steams in with an effort that is absolutely going to tear the roof off at the first drop… umm unless you happen

to be playing outside of course. K1 ***** RECOMMENDED

DJ Support

Laurent Garnier, Funk D Void, Dubfire, Wally Lopez, Plump DJs, Nic Fanciulli, Meat Katie, Aquasky, Paolo Mojo, Aston

Shuffle, Dylan Rhymes, Ivan Smagghe, , Elite Force, Medicine 8, DJ Emerson, General Midi , Joachim Spieth, Ante Perry,

Hector Romero, Dadalif, The Crystal Method , Dopamine, Randall Jones, Malente, DJ Hyper……..

Control is available at these fine shops now!

beatportlogo.jpgdjdownload_logo.jpgjunodownload.jpg chemicallogo.jpg

..and also available now is...


30hz - Reherded

1. Crazy

2. Crazy (Samuel H Simpson remix)

3. Electric Sheep (Extended mix)

4. Consume Daphne (Lee Coombs remix)

5. Innocent ft Yolanda (Far Too Loud remix)

6. Subliminal Criminals with the Beat Monkeys ft SirPlus (Magik Johnson remix)

7. Mutated (Pinch rework)

8. Nine Tomorrows (The Beat Monkeys remix)

9. Daddio ft Yolanda (Miles Dyson remix)

10. Space Age (Alex Metric remix)

11. Daddio ft Yolanda (Trevor Loveys remix)

12. Innocent ft Yolanda (Far Too Loud dub remix)

After the success of the 30hz ‘Electric Sheep’ LP last year, Lot49 follow up the producers debut with the aptly titled ‘Re-Herded’

which see’s Pinch, Alex Metric, Lee Coombs, Magik Johnson and more re-interpret key tracks from the original album

alongside exclusive, new material.

‘Crazy’, a brand new cut, is big, brash and infectious with distorted riffs and chopped vocal edits that are fast becoming a

feature of 30Hz’s intricate style. Samuel H Simpson remixes ‘Crazy’ from it’s direct, in your face vibe into a stripped, simple

but effective house cut not dissimilar to the tech-house sounds of 2000 And One or Radio Slave.

‘Re-herded’ continues the flow with an extended version of the track from the original album and Lee Coombs’ acid-tinged

rework of ‘Consume Daphne’ before Far Too Loud take their audio toolbox and set about dismantling the vocal monster

‘Innocent’ featuring the distinctive vocals of Yolanda and turning it in to something really quite special.

Next in line Magik Johnson displays his pedigree with a typically quality house version of ‘Subliminal Criminals’, Pinch drops

dubstep delight with mutated ‘Mutated’ and The Beat Monkeys do exactly as their name suggests when handling ‘Nine


The final selection sees both Trevor Loveys and Miles Dyson take on ‘Daddio’. A cascade of vocal hooks in its original form,

the track becomes the plaything of two of the finest talents in the house/techno/breakbeat/bassline crossover melee.

Finally, golden boy Alex Metric turns his hand to recreating ‘Space age’ while Far Too Loud deliver a dub of ‘Innocent’ for those

who like things a little lyrically lighter.

beatportlogo.jpg djdownload_logo.jpgjunodownload.jpg chemicallogo.jpg trackitdown_logo.jpg


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • Wait, Burning Man is going online-only? What does that even look like?
      You could have been forgiven for missing the announcement that actual physical Burning Man has been canceled for this year, if not next. Firstly, the nonprofit Burning Man organization, known affectionately to insiders as the Borg, posted it after 5 p.m. PT Friday. That, even in the COVID-19 era, is the traditional time to push out news when you don't want much media attention. 
      But secondly, you may have missed its cancellation because the Borg is being careful not to use the C-word. The announcement was neutrally titled "The Burning Man Multiverse in 2020." Even as it offers refunds to early ticket buyers, considers layoffs and other belt-tightening measures, and can't even commit to a physical event in 2021, the Borg is making lemonade by focusing on an online-only version of Black Rock City this coming August.    Read more...
      More about Burning Man, Tech, Web Culture, and Live EventsView the full article
      • 0 replies
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
  • Create New...