Jane Inc Is Dance-Pop With Depth

DudeAsInCool

“I was very obsessed with Jimi Hendrix when I started playing guitar, but I don’t know if it was because of guitar that I became obsessed, or if I was obsessed with him and then guitar followed,” Carlyn Bezic says over Zoom.

The Toronto-based Bezic is the musical mastermind behind the electronic pop group Jane Inc, whose new record, Faster Than I Can Take is out now via Telephone Explosion Records.

Bezic’s musical pedigree sprang to life at an early age, starting with growing up in a musical house with a mom who exemplified the consummate performer as a singer, dancer and part-time piano teacher. Then, in high school, she and her brother formed a band with him on drums and her on guitar and vocals.

“A lot of the songs came out of just finding interesting chords,” Bezic says. “I definitely had one song where I was trying very hard to make it sound like Talking Heads.”

She was also keenly aware that the music she was making was not the music she was in love with making. This gap widened as she became more exposed to groups like Sonic Youth and angular dance-punk bands that were rising to prominence.

After getting her BFA, Bezic returned to Toronto and spent time sharpening her considerable talents. This meant forming the synthpop duo Ice Cream with Amanda Crist, joining five-piece rock band Darlene Shrugg and recording with three of those members in U.S Girls.