Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Welcome Guest!

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

BLACK LIVES MATTER! ×
BLACK LIVES MATTER!

How to delete a tweet and a retweet


NelsonG

Recommended Posts

hero-image.jpg

Posted a joke that wasn't funny? Retweeted someone else's joke, but didn't notice the unsavory source? We're not here to judge. We're just here to make it all go away.

(FYI: In case you got here because you were hoping to delete someone else's tweet from your timeline, that's not possible, sorry. But there are ways of managing what you see and what others say about you.)

Here's how to perform this digital vanishing act:

How to delete a tweet

Once you've logged on to Twitter, find the tweet that you want to delete. Click the icon with three dots in a horizontal line in the top right corner of the tweet.

Find the three dots icon on the tweet you want to delete.
Find the three dots icon on the tweet you want to delete. Credit: Twitter

Then in the dropdown, hit "Delete."

Then hit delete in the dropdown.
Then hit delete in the dropdown. Credit:

When you delete a tweet, all of its contents, including metadata, will be removed from your account, the timeline of any accounts that follow you, and the Twitter homepage feed.

That being said, if someone retweeted a tweet with a comment (more on that in the next section) or copied and pasted content from your tweet into a new tweet, that content will not be deleted.

The same thing goes if your tweet has been cached, cross-posted, or screenshotted. It will not be deleted if it's published on a third-party platform.

Basically, you can delete a tweet, but it might be saved somewhere else, so tweet with caution.

But there are other ways to delete something you've posted to Twitter and no longer want around. First we'll explain what those other features are, followed by how to delete them.

How to retweet

Retweeting means sharing someone else's Twitter post to your followers. Self-retweeting is also possible, but (thankfully) somewhat rare.

There are two ways you can share a tweet: as a retweet, unchanged, or as a "quote tweet" by adding your own comment to the tweet.

Retweet

Find the tweet you'd like to retweet. Click/tap on the icon that shows two arrows circling each other.

This is the icon for retweeting.
This is the icon for retweeting. Credit: Twitter

Click/tap "Retweet" to share the tweet without adding any comments.

When you click on that, you have two options: retweet or retweet with a comment (quote tweet.)
When you click on that, you have two options: retweet or retweet with a comment (quote tweet.) Credit: Twitter

To undo a retweet, click/tap the retweet button again. This is how you "delete" a retweet.

Quote tweet

Find the tweet that you'd like to retweet and click/tap on the same icon. This time, click/tap "Quote tweet."

Hit quote tweet to add your own comment.
Hit quote tweet to add your own comment. Credit: Twitter

A pop-up window will show up with the tweet you want to retweet and a space above where you can add your comment. Once you've added your comment, click/tap tweet.

Add your comment above the tweet your want to share to your followers.
Add your comment above the tweet your want to share to your followers. Credit: twitter

To undo a quote tweet, follow the same steps for deleting a tweet.

http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/Mashable/~4/XTWZRy5buRg

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • Wait, Burning Man is going online-only? What does that even look like?
      You could have been forgiven for missing the announcement that actual physical Burning Man has been canceled for this year, if not next. Firstly, the nonprofit Burning Man organization, known affectionately to insiders as the Borg, posted it after 5 p.m. PT Friday. That, even in the COVID-19 era, is the traditional time to push out news when you don't want much media attention. 
      But secondly, you may have missed its cancellation because the Borg is being careful not to use the C-word. The announcement was neutrally titled "The Burning Man Multiverse in 2020." Even as it offers refunds to early ticket buyers, considers layoffs and other belt-tightening measures, and can't even commit to a physical event in 2021, the Borg is making lemonade by focusing on an online-only version of Black Rock City this coming August.    Read more...
      More about Burning Man, Tech, Web Culture, and Live EventsView the full article
      • 0 replies
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
    • Post in What Are You Listening To?
      Post in What Are You Listening To?
×
×
  • Create New...