Headbanger's Ball

Lord_of_the_Dense

Ok metalpeeps…I’ve decided to do a weekly recap/opinion thread on Headbanger’s Ball. I only recently was able to get into a situation which allowed me to have MTV2 and I have been waiting years to watch this show. I haven’t really watched it since I graduated high school (nearly two decades).

Anyways, I will be doing what I can to keep this updated weekly. The post I make today is actually from last weekend’s (8/7) show so I will be posting another review within the next few days.

As the show stands currently, it is played on MTV2 on Saturday evenings at 7:00 PM and at repeats at 1:00 AM on Tuesday mornings. These times are for PST (California) time. Jamey Jasta, lead singer of Hatebreed, is the current host.

This thread is open for anything, but it would be great to hear other opinions on the videos, music, guests or even commercials (A Kevin Lyttle album announcement is just WRONG during HBB). My primary aim is to discuss with those people who have caught the show. Having watched it or not, anyone can comment however.

OK, so here goes…

Tonight’s Guests – OTEP & Most Precious Blood

Three Day’s Grace – “Just Like You” – Three Days Grace – Jive

My recording started late on this show. Normally I would watch and record what I can. I suppose if I am going to do an article every week, I should record the whole show, but I want to get a personal collection going also. Maybe that’s what having 3 VCRs is for. ;)

Only catching the last minute of this song, I have to say I think it has officially grown on me. Originally I couldn’t stand it, but as I kept hearing it on the local station where my new job is, I started finding more and more things that caught my musical tastes. The composition itself is simple, both lyrically and musically. I don’t know if it’s the “1-e-a” of the kick and tom/cymbal or the redundant chorus. Either way, it’s something I turn up if I hear it. I look forward to hearing other works from these guys.